Mission Impossible…the Crap Baskets!

_20160526_152123

So here it is. Saturday morning and the detritus has hooked up, bred and multiplied! We were at this exact same situation last week! Can nobody remember to take things upstairs and put their ‘stuff’ away?! (Me included although I am now getting better!)

I made a rule, doing my slightly bossy/exasperated bordering on losing it altogether impression (this generally commands the attention of those its intended for!).

“Right, if there is something on the stairs….THAT YOU HAVE TO STEP OVER TO GET UP THE STAIRS…pick it up and take it with you. If you don’t know where it goes just pop it on my bed.” (one smug Aloha Mummy I can tell you!)(Notice the word POP).

Well, the smugness only lasted a day!  Everything I gathered from around the house and placed right in the middle of the stairs (there was no way it could be missed!) was suddenly uncategorized, unclaimed, assumed to be mine …….and dumped on my bed.  There was clearly no ‘popping’ involved! By all accounts I was now the owner of the Red and Blue Power Rangers masks, a loo roll, crumpled laundry, a Star Wars lunchbox (I did not put that on the stairs…I’d put that in the kitchen!  The blighters are sourcing additional ‘Stuff’ to add to the pile!), Harry Potter Trivial Pursuit, Lego, Lego, Lego, a party bag with the obligatory whistle (thanks for that birthday child parents…you wait!), plastic yoyo and spit bubbles, an Angry Birds hoodie…I wont go on!

Ok. Another plan needed.   Think…think… (I felt like Winnie the Pooh; perplexed facial expression and finger tapping my temple….)  Got it!

“Right, if I call your name come to the bottom of the stairs and take your pile of stuff that I give you upstairs!  I will only give you things that are yours or believed to be yours.  If they are not yours, seek out the person to whom they belong and trade as they will probably have something of yours too! If you think it is something of mine just pop it on my bed.” (smug Aloha Mummy once more!)

Nope.

This didn’t work either.

I still ended up with the toilet roll…dumped (pardon the pun!) on my bed.  Again, no popping was evident given that the roll had in fact unrolled and now spread from the foot of the bed to the pillow.

After some more thinking, tapping of my temple and most importantly me allowing my  ‘Monica side’ to kick in, I had it!

Behold the Crap baskets!

So, if  you haven’t yet discovered these little beauties, listen in!  I bought 4 baskets which each sit on a stair. Each basket is owned by one person in the house. When  the basket is full the idea is that it is taken upstairs or around the house and all the contents are returned to their original lodgings. ‘A place for everything and everything in its place.’

In the initial stages this worked quite well. Baskets were regularly de-cluttered, I didn’t have to leave trip hazards on the stairs and I had no loo roll strewn across my bed! Result!

However, this small victory was a little short-lived.  I began to find that as the baskets grew fat and full, ‘stuff’ began to cascade down from the higher baskets to the lower ones. I began to find, once again, all sorts of items -which were not mine, taking up residence in my basket. To be honest all that ever seemed to be in my basket anyway was an umbrella and a pair of sunglasses – loving the British weather!-a pot of nail varnish which I never seemed to have managed to get around to using, baby wipes, handy pack sized tissues and a hair elastic.

I began to feel defeated. Until…Lightbulb! My plan was simple, genius even, but surely too good to be true?!

I gathered the basket owners.

“When you hear the music for Mission Impossible it means that you immediately stop what you are doing! You run to the bottom of the stairs and claim your basket! You must then get all the contents of the basket put back into their rightful homes.  But!  You must get them put back before the end of the music!!! If you succeed and your ‘stuff’ is replaced and your basket returned to the stair empty  before the music ends, you may have a sweetie!  If you do not succeed and the music ends before your basket is returned….sadly you may not have a sweetie! …But you must still finish emptying your basket! (needed to get that one added in!)

I must add here that this was for all of us. Hubs, Aloha Mummy, Twin 1 and Twin 2. Admittedly I would have a head start because I would be pressing play on the cd player (yes…I am that old fashioned!)

But, do you know what though? It only bloomin worked!  IT FLOOPIN-LOOPILY WORKED!! We had clear stairs, a fun game and sweets! (I won’t mention a tune that stuck in our head for months!!!

Dum dum, dur dur dum dum, dur dur dum dum, dur dur dum dum dur dur, dudel-ummmmm, dudel-ummmmm, dudel-ummmmm, dur dup!

This solution worked so well…until 8 weeks ago!  Now we have our new Bubs I like to keep the stairs completely free of everything – can’t be doing with any trip hazards! So now, the baskets live somewhere else but we still have the same process…baskets fill, music plays, challenge is laid down and accepted, sweet awarded!

Sweets of choice at the moment- Bananas and Shrimps!

So, how do you keep your stairs clear (and ensure your sanity!) and what would your choice of sweet be?! Will you take on the Mission? Will you fill your life with the Crap Baskets?!

The Aloha Mummy 🌸

themumproject
 Diary of an imperfect mum
My Petit Canard
Mumzilla
R is for Hoppit

Mummascribbles

Mummuddlingthrough
Rhyming with Wine
48 thoughts on “Mission Impossible…the Crap Baskets!

  1. turningupindevon says:

    Ooh, I do like a percy pig or a mini egg! We’ve got such narrow old cottagey stairs that we’d break our necks if I put stuff on them to go up, therefore our lounge is a glorified untidy playroom! I’m liking the collecting of detritus into baskets though, will look into purchasing!! xx #stay classy

    Liked by 1 person

    • thealohamummy says:

      Yes, probably advisable to keep your stairs hazard free!!! Percy Pig sweets fab choice!!! I’m thinking of opting for retro Milk Bottles and Fizzy Rainbows for our next batch!! x #stayclassy

      Like

  2. Lisa Pomerantz says:

    Bravo on this solution! Truly, I offer a standing ovation. I used to think tht every time I came home from work, we had been burgled. What I realize is, we are just simply a mess. I am the only one living with some OCD. I can never find the same thing in the same place twice. If i do, it’s a mitzvah! As I type now, things are strewn from from door and throughout the house. We no longer have stairs as our flat is, well flat. Prime real estate is easily covered with everything. I go back between fits of anger, and lovely ideals of making memories. But, do you know where the keys are? The leash is? Yesterday, I tied a ribbon to our new puppy to get him outside. Oy

    Liked by 1 person

    • thealohamummy says:

      Haa! Loving picturing your puppy wearing a ribbon! Tres Cute!! Look out when you manage to put the puppy in the car seat and the kids on ribbons!!

      First standing ovation for my written works too!! *dances celebratory Mum dance!! x

      Liked by 1 person

  3. The Mum Project says:

    That is AMAZING. You are so creative, what a great idea! I can’t believe how much stuff ended up on your stairs, and then in your bed, LOO ROLL! haha This is hilarious, but you are a genius. Congrats girl. : ) Thanks for sharing with #StayClassy!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Angela Watling says:

    Amazing idea! My husband can’t tolerate anything on the stairs whereas I confess I do use it as a staging area to gather things for the upstairs climb. I tend to take things up by the end of every day though. As my LO gets older, I suspect she’ll be less obliging so I will keep this wonderful idea in mind!

    For old school sweetie fun, I reckon you should each have a ‘quarter’ of Millions each one week.

    #MarvMondays

    Liked by 1 person

  5. My Petit Canard says:

    Such a fantastic idea, I absolutely love it and might even have to give it a go in our house! We definitely suffer from things around the house-itis and could do with a fun way of getting it all clutter free. Now..what theme tune to choose. *muses* thanks for linking this up to #MarvMondays. Emily

    Liked by 1 person

  6. The Unsung Mum says:

    This cracked me up! We’re the same here and everyone seems to think that the stairs are the best place to dump all their crap! Annoys the hell out me. Might have to nick this basket idea though and the Mission Impossible music. Nothing like a bit of drama and tears from The Kid because she “can’t do it” after not even trying or a very quite baby who has just everything done the toilet as thats her default ‘where things go place’ at the mo! Really funny post! #chucklemums

    Liked by 1 person

  7. @fitttrain says:

    I am just a mean mummy and if I find something in a general living space and no one moves to claim it.. .it goes to live in the shed! 10 second rule, no second chances. Now I have to say I was not always this cruel but 2 teenagers and a very messy SO have driven me to it! Now I just need them to recognise the difference between my jeans and my 11 year old and I will be happy😂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Jess Powell (Babi a Fi) says:

    Haha, oh, I know this problem so well! My dad used to have a solution which worked when we were a bit older – anything left on the stairs that wasn’t his would go in the bin, no exceptions. There’s nothing life retrieving your new trainers from the dustbin that inspires you to put them away next time. xD #FridayFrolics

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Silly Mummy says:

    Genius idea! I’m the person who puts everything away round here! I did briefly successfully convince my then two year old that ‘lunch time tidy up’ was not only a thing, but a fun thing. Of course now she is three, she no longer believes this!

    Thanks so much for joining #FridayFrolics. Hope to see you next time

    Liked by 1 person

  10. mummuddlingthrough says:

    This is awesome…sounds great fun! I so need to get the kids putting their own stuff away as at the moment the fairies seem to do everything…aka ME! I also remember my own Mum doing her nut at my brother and I about the exact same thing! Ah, karma eh?
    Thanks for sharing with #coolmumclub – great to have you!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Rhyming with Wine says:

    Oh how I love this! My house is pretty much filled with crap baskets so that it looks surface tidy and clutter free. The added bonus is that we’re about to move house and there is very little in the house that isn’t already housed in some sort of box or basket already so that’s winning at life! Do I get a sweetie please? Love love love the Mission Impossible theme idea. I’m on it! Thanks for sharing with #DreamTeam x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

