How many times have I sniffed something today…

_20160623_151959

 

It has suddenly occurred to me that I sniff things…a lot.  I hadn’t noticed it, or even given it much thought until today, as I was walking down the stairs with Twin 1’s school jumper which I had found buried under football kit, swimming trunks and a sock on his clothes ‘resting’area.

We were just about to head out the door on the school run – yes, I have sent him with a jumper today, down here in deepest South Devon we are not experiencing the tropical, lounging about weather that Philip and Holly have just been supping cocktails in and parading on my tv screen.  No.  We have low lying cloud, thick drizzle and steaming pavements due to a small degree  of warmth. It makes me think of those scrums you see rugby players in when they steam away!  Enjoy your heatwave London! Was that a Thunder Bug I just saw flit past my window?

Anyway, back to sniffing.  It has to be some primitive  instinct to ensure that:

a) something is safe to eat and not gone off

b) a predator will not hunt you down because of your scent

c) offspring are presentable

d) you yourself are presentable

e) you do not smell like the remnants of your mini offspring’s last projectile incident

f) you get that little tummy skip moment when you smell your Hubby’s cologne on your soft fluffy jumper (and keep you going through the day which has so far consisted mostly of e) incidents)

g) to double check if that nappy which you JUST changed has somehow refilled the moment you have hoisted mini offspring aloft to secure in the car seat.

(I’d better stop…you still there or have you nodded off?! Apologies!)

I recall vividly 10 years ago now, being in the Hospital SCBU unit with the Twins right after they were born. Twin 2 was in need of extra support whilst Twin 1 had a sticker on his incubator reading ‘Lodger’ to ensure no Dr’s gave him treatment he did not need.  At night the kindly Midwives would scoop the Twins up and take them to the Nursery allowing me time to sleep – such a blessing!  With the curtains pulled around my bay on the ward I would know, by the scent alone, which Twin had been brought back to me ready for a feed.  Without being able to see him and with no indication from the Midwife, I simply could smell which of my beautiful babies needed me.

They smelt completely different but oddly similar – a mixture of newborn sweetness, warmth and fuzziness.  I still experience their smells now, when they are ill.  They exude the same curious, soft and gentle aroma.  They don’t have a clue what I’m on about but from this individual scent I can tell that, in a few days, they will have come down with some bug or other.

Motherhood.  Instinct. Evolution. Survival.  Who knows what the scientific explanation may be for this, but I know in my heart that it’s a blessing, a gift and a magical power of us Mums.

So, how many times have I sniffed something today?  Hmm?  Well,

  • Twin 1’s jumper (passable).
  • Bubs’ nappy.
  • Some questionable clothing dropped betwixt the Twins bedroom and the laundry basket (most definitely not passable).
  • Bubs’ nappy.
  • The milk (good job I did that).
  • My clothes (to see if they smelt of baby or just if I stank in general).
  • My hair (to see if it smelt of breakfast smells).
  • Bubs’ nappy.
  • Bubs’ nappy
  • Bubs’ nappy.
  • Bubs’ – (nope no need to get too close to that one, pretty blatant that one!) nappy.
  • The Brie (I appear to have gone off Brie since falling preggers and having Bubs so that just smelt odd anyway. Maybe it’s because I haven’t eaten it for 9 months?)
  • The damp laundry which I have just discovered in the dryer (has that been there 2 or 3 days and can I get away with not rewashing it…)

Well, you get my point!  I sniff things, a lot and I bet you do too. Go on, I dare you! How many things have you sniffed today? I bet you surprise yourself!

The Aloha Mummy 🌸

 

 

A Cornish Mum

 

Diary of an imperfect mum

 

Petite Pudding

16 thoughts on “How many times have I sniffed something today…

  1. Lucy says:

    Oooh, congratulations on the first post!! And what a brilliant first post it is!! Yes, this is something I’ve pondered often too-how many times I sniff stuff during the day! The clothes I pull from the washing basket because I haven’t gotten around to washing them (a quick smother in perfume and they’re usually ok, either that or I’ll have to be naked… Nobody wants to see that!) my own armpits, the odd brown thing I find on the floor, and yes, lots of bottoms!! I love that you could distinguish which of your twins you’d been given, by the smell-so amazing!! And my 2 also have a very distinguishable smell when they’re poorly… interesting!!!! Welcome to blogging!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. An imperfect Mum (@animperfectmum) says:

    LOL! You are spit on I do sniff lots of things throughout my day. Smell is probably one of the most overlooked senses and isn’t it amazing how you could smell which twin was which!?! Love that! My eldest has recently started sniffing his armpits, I’m sure he must have had ‘the talk’ at school, must investigate this further! Thank you for linking up to #ablogginggoodtime 🎉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. babiesbiscuitsandbooze says:

    Oh I know exactly what you mean I am always sniffing his bum, his bib, my clothes, my hair etc etc! I am dead impressed that you could smell your twins and know which was which – and that you can predict illness! I don’t think I am that advanced haha. Sniffing is just one of those inbuilt mum traits like rocking a crying baby, patting their backs after feeds and always knowing when a meltdown is imminent! #ablogginggoodtime

    Liked by 1 person

    • thealohamummy says:

      Ah the imminent meltdown!! Yes, senses defo detected those when they rumbled about like an ever closing-in thunder storm!
      Thanks so much for reading and commenting! 😘
      #ablogginggoodtime

      Like

  4. Carol Cameleon says:

    A really funny post but also a beautiful post that had my heartstrings panging. That mothering instinct IS incredible… that you can tell when your twins are going to be ill from their scent. Yes, we can often tell when our little ones are a bit ‘off’ but that scent is amazing. #ablogginggoodtime

    Liked by 1 person

  5. ljdove23 says:

    I sniff everything, probably way more than I realise! Just now I sat sniffing my daughters hair after her bath, one of my favourite smells ever and a refreshing change from sniffing at nappies! Lovely post, motherhood is amazing! #picknmix

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment